No comments

You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Hopetoun’s Cheryl Reid proved a popular winner of Rural Northwest Health’s 2019 Betty Richardson Award.

A packed room applauded loudly as the Hopetoun campus administration manager was announced during an awards dinner in Warracknabeal recently. Former nurse and nurse trainer Betty Richardson attended the event to present Cheryl with her award.

Cheryl thanked many people and gave a brief history of her working life during a gracious speech. She was clearly thrilled and humbled by her win ahead of fellow finalists wellbeing administrator Angie Cox and nurse Gary Bellis.

Cheryl started in 1991 as a receptionist for Hopetoun Bush Nursing Hospital where she was in charge of patient admissions, discharge, patient records and purchasing while also providing a friendly greeting to all who visited.

These days Cheryl’s title has changed but her duties have only increased. Added to her list now is health and wellbeing mentor, domestic violence mentor, admin support to the campus manager, Kronos coordinator and rosters manager.

Cheryl has also been involved in many RNH projects including Leadership training and the BRIGHT program. She has represented RNH on various committees including Women on Farms and a committee that brought the National Centre for Farmer Health nurses to Hopetoun.

Cheryl was the driver behind swapping the physiotherapy room at Hopetoun with the education room which has proved to create a change in perception with community members about the benefits of exercise.

In nominating Cheryl, 2018 award winner Kathleen Poulton said her biggest strength was her personality.

“Cheryl is held in high regard throughout RNH and the community,” Mrs Poulton said.

“She greets everyone with a smile and deals with every situation in a pragmatic yet compassionate approach,” she said.

“She is never flustered, no matter how explosive the situation may become. She is professional, trustworthy, reliable and always positive.”

RNH’s most prestigious annual award is presented to a team member who best reflects the attributes of Mrs Richardson who dedicated a career to nursing and educating in Warracknabeal. To help with their choice, a panel of judges take those attributes into consideration.

They include patient/client focus, team approach, flexibility, a logical and pragmatic approach, the ability to push boundaries in order to achieve the best outcome for the patient/client and typical ‘Betty’ qualities such as being humble, a quiet achiever, a strong sense of humour and demonstrating camaraderie.

The award night also highlighted team member milestone awards for 2019. At the top of the list were nurses Brenda Sleep and Karen Miller who both celebrated 30 years of service, followed by Debra Ashworth on 25 years.

Other service award recipients included Christine Harris and Bronwyn McIntyre for 15 years and Katrina Fallon, Lynne Boschen, Jacqueline Johnston, Raelene Fay, Jade Taylor, Joanne Watson, Bridget Williams, Lee-Ann Nikkelson and Lisa Cook for 120 years.

Meet the finalists:

And the winner is:

No comments

You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Reply